Thursday, March 25, 2010

What's on my mind.

So today, well actually it was yesterday, Thursday is the usual day that this fine looking young man comes in to eat at my work. He is fine. I know a lot of people in my town. They may or may not know me or know of me but I know them and know of them. Yes, I know all of the key players in the saga of this drama. Really there are two groups. The party clique. And the ones that don't party clique. It's rare when one member of the one's that don't party are caught hanging with the ones that do. And usually the party clique starts "recruiting" at 7th grade. The upperclassmen decide what freshmen they like, and start hanging out with them and inviting them to parties. Then once in, the freshmen decide what middle schoolers they like and hang out with them occaisionally.....and summer is when the beginning of the partying starts. The partying just gets more hardcore as you grow. Anyway, I really was surprised that I didn't know this kid. I knew his fb friends, I knew his buddies he came in with, and I certainly knew most of his senior class. But I was so stunned not knowing him. Of course I have connections so I found out the dirty details. Let me tell ya, homie needs some disipline. (We all do, but party boys and girls especially) To my unpleasent surprise he turns out to be a drinker, no, a drunkard. If they drink, they definitely party. That's just how it is around here. Of course, the one guy I might think is remotely decent turns out to be a douche. Which makes my affection towards another boy much stronger.....great. I also had to ask myself a question today. I was at the mall, and with it being spring break here the highschoolers are running wild. Just WILD. I saw so many around the mall with cigarettes tucked in their mouths. And just a bunch of black haired, long pants with chains, devil worshipper looking bodies aimlessly chillin in the mall. I thought to myself: Elizabeth, why are these kids so hopeless. Why are they so rebelious? So crude and uncaring? Then I remembered a portion of the video lesson from Wednesday night Bible study. It was the Harris twins talking about their (amazing) book "Do Hard Things". They mention about how our generation just isn't expected to be civilized and obey the rules. And hey, as long as you're popular, you're good right? Ha, wrong! I know that I often times I forget, and measure my standards up to christian adults that I respect and admire, but that's not right. The only standards I should ever be reaching to meet is God's. And though I'll never make that perfect standard I've at least got to a)Try and b)stop comparing myself to other teenagers and adults! But really, another thing is what is good these days? Wordly good, I think, is equivilant to worldy success. Being outwardly nice(so you have friends), having the nice things(to impress your friends), and maybe even some charity work. Oh and your kids getting good grades and hanging out with "the good crowd" doesn't hurt either. It's so baffling how the devil entices you with sin so easily. You don't even know it's sin. You just see it as what everyone else is doing and hey, it's all good. That's also where the subject of happiness falters. Cause the only true thing in your heart that can give you peace and give you hope, is Jesus Christ. Cause if the Holy Spirit's livin in ya, you possess the Fruit of the Spirit. Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Against such things there is no law. And since I posess those, even though certain ones may be weak at times, shouldn't I do something about this teenage rebellion? I mean, I'm one girl, but Phillipians 4:13 says, I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. Doesn't that mean I can? Hmmm now, just where to start....

No comments: